Product2018-11-12T14:33:41+00:00

What exactly is FAUSST?

FAUSST is made of glass fibres and metal fibres, warp-knitted to create a hybrid material.

The FAUSST joining solution

The metal fibre side is joined with a steel profile that is later welded on. The other side is laminated to the lightweight component. These joints are standardised, which means lightweight construction can be used extensively.

What exactly is FAUSST?

FAUSST is made of glass fibres and metal fibres, warp-knitted to create a hybrid material.

The FAUSST joining solution

The metal fibre side is joined with a steel profile that is later welded on. The other side is laminated to the lightweight component. These joints are standardised, which means lightweight construction can be used extensively.

UNTIL NOW, THE ONLY AVAILABLE SOLUTION FOR JOINING METALS AND COMPOSITE MATERIALS HAVE INVOLVED ADHESIVE AND SUPPLEMENTARY BOLTING. BY THEMSELVES, THE CALCULATION, CERTIFICATION AND TESTING PHASE ARE SO TIME-CONSUMING THAT ENGINEERS OFTEN END UP STICKING WITH PURE STEEL STRUCTURES.

Until now, the only available solutions for joining metals and composite materials have involved adhesives and supplementary bolting. By themselves, the calculation, certification and testing phase are so time-consuming that engineers often end up sticking with pure steel structures.

FAUSST speeds up the entire design and production process.*

Measuring
4 hrs
4 hrs
Adjustments
4 hrs
11 hrs
Preparations
1 hrs
22 hrs
Joining
2 hrs
38 hrs
Waiting time before further work
-
< 12 hrs
11 hrs
FAUSST
75 hrs
Bonding
* Example: a superstructure on the upper deck of a ro-ro (roll-on roll-off) ferry designed to house power units for the ship’s air conditioning. In the longitudinal direction, the deckhouse measures 16.8 m including gusset plates and it is approximately 14 m wide. The upper deck to which the deckhouse needs to be joined using adhesive technology is made of steel.

“FAUSST is a remarkable solution that combines the advantages of steel and composites with exceptionally wide-ranging opportunities for marine, railway and construction applications.”

Jörg Bünker, Head of R&D, SAERTEX GmbH & Co. KG

Benefits

  • Reduced weight

    means lower fuel consumption

  • Material flexibility

    means greater freedom at the design stage

  • Durability

    means lower maintenance costs

More on this topic

Frequently asked questions

FAUSST is a technology originally designed for use in the maritime sector, but is also being further developed for use in the construction, rail vehicle and automotive sectors. A further goal is to develop this product for use in the aviation sector.

After five years of development work, our FAUSST technology is now ready for production. The initial prototypical applications are currently being tested with selected customers. This means the first FAUSST products will soon be on offer.

During the initial stage of the company’s development, FAUSST was produced in cooperation with textile manufacturer Fritz Moll Textilwerke GmbH & Co. KG and the welding technology training and testing institute SLV Halle GmbH. In the medium term, we will manufacture FAUSST in-house.

Because FAUSST consists of standardised ready-made sub-products, it can always be supplied within a few days. Prototypes are currently being produced for selected customers, and even these require only three weeks’ development time before the finished product is ready. 

Do not hesitate to get in touch with us if you are looking for a specific approach or have questions about the product. Simply email us at kontakt@hyconnect.de and our engineering team will contact you.

FAUSST in 2 minutes

Discover why we have developed FAUSST and how it is used.

Play video

This website uses cookies.

The aim is to find out which content is of interest to our visitors and hence to keep improving the content we provide.

Further information >
Accept

Produkt2018-11-29T19:52:44+00:00

Was ist FAUSST genau?

FAUSST besteht aus Glasfasern und Metallfasern. Diese sind mechanisch miteinander verwirkt, sodass ein Hybridgewebe entsteht.

Der FAUSST Verbinder

Die Metallfaserseite wird mit einem Stahlprofil verbunden, das später angeschweißt wird. Die andere Seite wird im Leichtbauteil einlaminiert. Diese Verbindungen sind standardisiert, was den großflächigen Einsatz von Leichtbau ermöglicht.

Was ist FAUSST genau?

FAUSST besteht aus Glasfasern und Metallfasern. Diese sind mechanisch miteinander verwirkt, sodass ein Hybridgewebe entsteht.

Der FAUSST Verbinder

Die Metallfaserseite wird mit einem Stahlprofil verbunden, das später angeschweißt wird. Die andere Seite wird im Leichtbauteil einlaminiert. Diese Verbindungen sind standardisiert, was den großflächigen Einsatz von Leichtbau ermöglicht.

BIS HEUTE WERDEN METALLE UND FASERVERBUNDSTOFFE MIT KLEBELÖSUNGEN UND ZUSÄTZLICHEN SCHRAUBEN VERBUNDEN. ALLEIN DIE BERECHNUNG, ZERTIFIZIERUNG UND DIE TESTPHASE KOSTEN SO VIEL ZEIT, DASS DIE KONSTRUKTEURE OFTMALS WEITERHIN AUF REINE STAHLBAUTEN SETZEN.

Bis heute werden Metalle und Faserverbundstoffe mit Klebelösungen und zusätzlichen Schrauben verbunden. Allein die Berechnung, Zertifizierung und die Testphase kosten so viel Zeit, dass die Konstrukteure oftmals weiterhin auf reine Stahlbauten setzen.

FAUSST beschleunigt den gesamten Design- und Produktionsprozess.*

Einmessen
4 Std.
4 Std.
Anpassungen
4 Std.
11 Std.
Vorbereitung
1 Std.
22 Std.
Fügen
2 Std.
38 Std.
Wartezeit für Weiterarbeit
-
< 12 Std.
11 Std.
FAUSST
75 Std.
Klebung
* Am Beispiel eines Deckshauses: Oberdeck einer RoRo-Fähre (Roll-on/Roll-off) zur Aufnahme von Aggregaten der Klimaversorgung des Schiffs. Die Abmessung des Deckshauses in Schiffslängsrichtung einschließlich der Knotenbleche beträgt 16,8 m, die Breite beläuft sich auf etwa 14 m. Das Oberdeck, mit dem das Deckhaus klebtechnisch zu verbinden ist, besteht aus Stahl.

„FAUSST ist eine eindrucksvolle Lösung, die die Vorteile von Stahl und Faserverbund mit den extrem vielseitigen Möglichkeiten für Marine-, Eisenbahn- und Bauanwendungen kombiniert.“

Jörg Bünker, Head of R&D, SAERTEX GmbH & Co. KG

Vorteile

  • Gewichtsreduktion

    senkt den Treibstoffverbrauch

  • Materialflexibilität

    sorgt für Freiheit im Designprozess

  • Langlebigkeit

    reduziert die Wartungskosten

Mehr zum Thema

Häufig gestellte Fragen

FAUSST ist eine Technologie, die im ersten Schritt in der maritimen Branche eingesetzt werden kann. Parallel wird FAUSST für die Baubranche, den Schienenfahrzeugbau und die Automobilbranche weiterentwickelt. Ein weiteres Ziel ist die Entwicklung für den Bereich Luftfahrt.

FAUSST ist eine Technologie, die nach fünf Jahren Entwicklungsarbeit Produktreife erlangt hat. Aktuell werden mit ausgewählten Kunden erste prototypische Anwendungen getestet, sodass wir in Kürze erste FAUSST Produkte anbieten werden.

In der ersten Phase des Unternehmensaufbaus wird FAUSST in Kooperation mit dem Textilhersteller Fritz Moll Textilwerke GmbH & Co. KG und der Schweißtechnischen Lehr- und Versuchsanstalt Halle GmbH hergestellt. Mittelfristig wird FAUSST in eigener Produktion hergestellt.

Als Produkt steht FAUSST innerhalb weniger Tage zur Verfügung, da es aus standardisierten Teilprodukten besteht, die bereits vorgefertigt sind. Aktuell werden Prototypen für ausgewählte Kunden produziert. Auch hier liegt die Entwicklungszeit bis zum fertigen Produkt bei nur drei Wochen.

Zögern Sie nicht, uns zu kontaktieren, wenn Sie auf der Suche nach einem speziellen Lösungsansatz sind oder Fragen zum Produkt haben. Schreiben Sie einfach eine E-Mail an kontakt@hyconnect.de. Unser Ingenieurteam wird sich mit Ihnen in Verbindung setzen.

FAUSST in 2 Minuten

Erfahren Sie, warum wir FAUSST entwickelt haben, und wie das Produkt angewendet wird.

Video abspielen

Diese Website nutzt Cookies.

Damit möchten wir herausfinden, welche Inhalte interessant für unsere Besucher sind, um unsere Inhalte stetig zu verbessern.

Weitere Informationen >
Akzeptieren